Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Domain Name Spam and Scam - for business owners

Recently, there are some China companies trying to get more business by spamming and scamming.

If you own a website (domain name), you may become their target.

They would email you with concern to someone trying to purchase domain names related to your brand and domain name. They pretend to be trying to help you to sound good.

If you were to reply to their email, they would start asking you to buy up those domain names before that "someone" buys it. Each domain name, that is highly not important to your business may cost up to $50 to $100.

Please kindly do not reply or purchase anything from them.

An example of the spam email is as follows (credit to Smart Tuition Singapore):




from fnew@drc-china.org
sender-time Sent at 6:51 PM (GMT+08:00). Current time there: 8:17 PM. ✆
reply-to fnew@drc-china.org
to
date Wed, Nov 17, 2010 at 6:51 PM
subject Concerning " smarttuition " Brand name

hide details 6:51 PM (1 hour ago)

Images are not displayed.
Display images below - Always display images from fnew@drc-china.org
(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward to the right person/ department, as this is urgent, thank you.)
Dear CEO,
We are the department of registration service in China. we have something which needs to confirm with you. We formally received an application on Nov. 16th 2010. One company called "ATOM USA INC " is applying to register " smarttuition " as Brand name and domain names as below:

smarttuition.asia
smarttuition.com.cn
smarttuition.com.hk
smarttuition.com.tw
smarttuition.hk
smarttuition.in
smarttuition.tw



After our initial checking, we found the Brand name and domain names being applied are as same as your company! So we need confirmation with your company. If the aforementioned company is your business partner or your subsidiary, please DO NOT reply us, we will approve the application automatically. If you don't have any relationship with this company, please contact us within 5 workdays. If over the deadline, we will approve the application submitted by "ATOM USA INC " unconditionally.

Best Regards

Rensis Ho
Senior Consultant

0 comments: